The Seven Chakras: What They Are, Where They’re Located & How to Keep Them Aligned

The Seven Chakras: What They Are, Where They’re Located & How to Keep Them Aligned

If you want to live your most fulfilling life, it’s important to maintain a healthy connection with your body, mind, and spirit. One way you can become more in tune with yourself is learning how to balance each of your 7 chakras (energy centers) to maintain a state of equilibrium.

‘Chakra’ is a Sanskrit word that translates into “disk” or “wheel”, so when you visualize your seven chakras, you can envision seven energetic wheels moving simultaneously to help preserve your energy. These seven energy centers are positioned centrally in our bodies, starting from the top of our heads and forming a line down to the base of your spine (groin area).

In this guide, you will learn about what each chakra is, the colors associated with it, where it’s located, and how to keep them all aligned.

First Chakra: Crown Chakra
The first chakra is the crown chakra, which is located at the top of your head. The color most commonly associated with the crown chakra is violet.

The crown chakra represents your connection to the spiritual realm. Anytime you want to connect with your angels, ancestors, or Spirit Guides, you will be using this specific chakra to channel information and energy from the Divine. Since it’s the uppermost chakra, if your crown chakra somehow gets blocked, it creates a domino-like effect where it affects other chakras in the body and causes them to become blocked as well.

That’s why it’s important to balance our crown chakra — so we can continue having an open line of communication with Spirit.

Second Chakra: Third Eye Chakra

The second chakra is the third eye chakra, which sits between your two eyebrows. It’s associated with the color indigo. It has been said that humans don’t have two eyes — we actually have three — because our pineal gland provides us with insight, intuition, and psychic abilities. If you ever feel like your intuition is dampened, or you’re having trouble trusting your gut to make a firm decision, it’s a sign that your third eye chakra could use tuning up. One of the ways you can do this is to visualize the color indigo between your eyebrows and allow the indigo color to expand outward to help grow your intuition.

After you’ve completed the previous exercise, you can write down any intuitive messages you receive to reflect on how you can work on enhancing your intuition generally. Whether you’re extremely psychic or just beginning your spiritual journey, your third eye chakra is a very important chakra to focus on when deepening your spiritual gifts.

Third Chakra: Throat Chakra
The third chakra is the throat chakra, which is located in your throat and is associated with the color blue. The throat chakra is all about expressing yourself authentically — so if you feel like your voice isn’t heard or you’re unable to express yourself with confidence, it’s important to work on balancing your throat chakra.

Your throat chakra is all about being authentic and speaking your truth, regardless of whether or not other people agree with you. A simple exercise you can do is to visualize a blue light around the throat area; next, tilt your head back and visualize the blue light expanding around your throat and recalibrating its energy back into balance.

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra
The fourth chakra is the heart chakra, which is located in the center of your chest. It’s associated with the color green. The heart chakra signifies love, compassion for others, and service orientation. This chakra is very important to keep balanced, because you have to have self-compassion in order to have compassion for others. One of the simple ways to boost this chakra is incorporating the color green into your life, both physically and metaphorically. You can start by visualizing green shining light coming from your heart center, but you can also do simpler things like buy more plants, consume more green foods, and wear more green colored clothing.

Fifth Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra
The fifth chakra is the solar plexus chakra, which is located under the chest, right above your belly button. It’s associated with the color yellow. The solar plexus chakra is connected to everything that has to do with your relationship with yourself, your self-worth, and intellectual curiosity. The happier you are with yourself and your life, the more vibrant your solar plexus chakra is. Since this chakra is directly correlated with your relationship to yourself, practicing self-compassion, self-love meditations and writing down things that make you unique and special will keep your solar plexus chakra glowing radiantly.

Sixth Chakra: Sacral Chakra
The sixth chakra is the sacral chakra, which is located below your belly button. It’s associated with the color orange. Your sacral chakra signifies your physical relationships to others regarding creativity, pleasure, trust, and building deep, intimate connections with others. If you’re someone who experiences problems with your gut or digestion in general, that means your sacral chakra needs to be re-balanced. You can start by visualizing an orange light flowing outwardly from your sacral chakra to realign it. Furthermore, incorporating the color orange into your wardrobe can be a great way to strengthen your sacral chakra. Consuming more orange foods, maintaining a regular exercise routine, hugging loved ones and cuddling with pets can help attune this chakra.

Seventh Chakra: Root Chakra
The seventh and final chakra is the root chakra, which is located at the base of your groin area. It’s commonly associated with the color red. The root chakra is all about remaining grounded and the roots you’re metaphorically spreading out into the world with your physical presence.

When you think about a tree and how the tree has roots that grow deep within the Earth’s soil, that’s exactly how your root chakra symbolizes your connection to you and your body in the physical world. It’s also connected to things like your identity, community, larger sense of belonging, and how you impact and influence the world on a macro level. To boost your root chakra, ground yourself physically by taking walks on the beach or grass barefoot.

I hope that learning about your chakras helps you understand how to live a more balanced and fulfilled life!

With love,